02-04 January 2020

Hotel Le Meridien Kochi, Kerala

Welcome to PESGRE 2020

IEEE International conference on Power Electronics, Smart Grid and Renewable Energy (PESGRE 2020) is organized by IEEE IA/IE/PELS Joint Chapter Kerala Section.

The Conference is technically and financially co-sponsored by Industry Applications Society, Power Electronics Society, IEEE Kerala Section, IA/IE/PELS Joint Chapter Kerala Section.

Date:   2nd – 4th of January 2020

Venue:    Hotel Le Meridien Kochi, Kerala, India

Important Dates:

  1. Paper Submission Opens    : 1 June 2019
  2. Paper Submission Closes   : 1 August 2019
  3. Notification of Acceptance : 1 October 2019
  4. Final Camera-ready Paper   : 1 November 2019

Conference Theme: The conference theme is “Power Electronics and renewable energy for sustainable development”. The Conference focuses on the latest technologies, strategies and challenges that are faced by power Electronics systems, Electric Drives, Renewable Energy resources and the interconnection to modern power systems and the operation in the smart grid environment for a better, smarter and more environment-friendly Power System.

Focus Areas: power Electronic Converters and control systems, Smart Grid Technology, Renewable energy Resources, Distributed generation and Grid Interconnection, Electric vehicles, Energy storage & battery charging techniques, FACTS & Custom power, Power Quality & EMI, Microgrid & Smartgrid, Energy policies & Standards, Wide band gap devices, Lighting Technology, Power electronic education






Delegates from Industry/Academia
INR 12500

INR 10500

US $400

US $340

Student Registration

INR 6250

INR 5250

US $200

US $170

Accompanying Person

INR 3000

INR 2500

US $100

US $85

Technical Advisory Board 

  •  Suresh Nair,  Immediate Past Chair IEEE Kerala Section
  •  Unnikrishnan A K, Past Chair, IA/IE/PELS Jt. Chapter Kerala 
  • Sanjib Panda,  NUS Singapore
  •  Gopakumar K, IISc Bangalore
  •  J. Holtz, University of Wuppertal, Germany
  • Vassilios G Agelidis, Technical University of Denmark
  • Bhim Singh, IIT Delhi
  •  Krishna Vasudevan, IIT Madras
  •  Prasad Enjeti, Texas A&M University, USA
  •  V.K. Damodaran, Centre for Environment and Development
  •  Lillykutty Jacob, NIT Calicut
  •  A Suhair, Chair, PES Kerala Chapter
  •  K. P. Mohandas, Chair, Conference activity board, IEEE Kerala section
  • Ashok S, NIT Calicut

Conference Organizing Committee: 


  •  Tomy Sebastian, Halla Mechatronics, Past President, IAS
  •  Sameer S M, NIT Calicut, Chair, IEEE Kerala Section

Honorary Chairs:

  •  Georges Zissis, Laplace University, France, President, IAS
  •  Frede Blaabjerg, Aalborg University, President, PELS
  • Muhammed Kasim, Chair IA/IE/PELS Jt. Chapter Kerala

General Chairs:

  •  Jaison Mathew, GEC Thrissur, India
  •  Akshay Kumar Rathore, Concordia University, Canada

Technical Program Committee

a) From Kerala:

i.   Rijil Ramchand,  NIT Calicut

 ii. Sudharshan Kaarthik, , IIST Trivandrum

iii.  Bijuna Kunju,  TKMCE, Kollam,

iv. Dinesh Gopinath, GEC Idukki

v.  Rajeevan P P,  IIST Trivandrum

b) From outside Kerala, within India:

i. K. Gopakumar, IISc Bangalore

ii. Sivakumar K, IIT Hyderabad

iii. Ritesh Keshri, VNIT, Nagpur

iv. H.M. Suryavanshi, VNIT Nagpur, India

v.  Sumit Pramanik, IIT Delhi

c) From abroad:

i.  Tomy Sebastian, Halla Mechatronics, USA

ii.  Frede Blaabjerg , Aalborg University, Denmark

 iii. Sanjib Panda,  NUS Singapore

iv. Seung-Ki Sul, Seoul National University, South Korea

v.  Akshay Kumar Rathore, Concordia, Canada

vi.  Prasanna U R, Texas Instruments, Dallas, USA

 vii. Vinod Khadkikar, Khalifa University, Abu Dhabi

 viii. Harish Sarma Krishnamoorthy,   University of Houston

 ix. Sanjeevikumar Padmanabhan , Aalborg University, Denmark

Technical Program Chairs:

  •  Rijil Ramchand, NIT Calicut
  •  Sudharshan Kaarthik, IIST Trivandrum
  •  Dinesh Gopinath, GEC Idukki
  •  Sheldon S Williamson, UOIT Canada
  • Vinod Khadkikar, Khalifa University, Abu Dhabi
  • Harish Sarma Krishnamoorthy,   University of Houston

Publication Chairs:

  •  Bijuna Kunju, Vice Chair, IA/IE/PELS Jt. Chapter Kerala 
  •  Rajeevan P P, IIST Trivandrum

Finance Chairs:

  •  Biju K, Secretary, IA/IE/PELS Jt. Chapter Kerala
  •  Sunitha Beevi K, Treasurer, IEEE Kerala Section.

Publicity Chairs:

  •  Srikanth Vasudevan, Area chair (R-10), Industry Applications Society
  •  Nanda Kumar R, Convenor, Conference activity board, IEEE Kerala Section.

Industry Interaction and Sponsorship Chairs:

  •  C. M. Varughese,  IGA Tech, Cochin
  •  Boby Philip, SCT College of Engineering Trivandrum

Hospitality Chairs:

  • Shahim Baker, Secretary, IEEE Kerala Section
  • Mini Ulanat, Chair,  WiE, IEEE Kerala Section
  • Binojkumar A C , RIT Kottayam

Steering Committee (11 members- to be constituted)

  • Chair, IEEE Kerala Section
  • Chair, IA/IE/PELS Jt. Chapter Kerala
  • President, IAS
  • President, PELS
  • Immediate Past Chair of the Conference (Steering Committee Chair) (For the first conference in the series, IA/IE/PELS Kerala chapter chair will be the steering committee chair)
  • Present Chair of the Conference
  • Next Chair of the Conference
  • IEEE IA/IE/PELS Jt. Chapter Kerala Representative
  • IEEE Kerala Section Representative
  • IEEE IAS Local Area Representative
  • Academic Representative
  • Industry Representative